About the Zons

Inclusion Statement

At the Twin Cities Amazons Rugby Club, we believe we’re made stronger by our differences and united by our commitment, passion, intensity and desire to be the best. 

We strive to offer opportunities for all to exchange ideas, share experiences, and pursue personal fulfillment through rugby. This pursuit of sport is a right afforded to everyone, regardless of identity or ability. We believe we have a collective responsibility to foster a culture of mutual respect and equal opportunities. We are dedicated to cultivating and upholding an inclusive environment in which we celebrate the differences of every member of our club.

About the Amazons

The Amazons are a senior women’s rugby club based in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. The Zons field teams to play in two different leagues, play matches locally and nationally, and welcome players of all levels of experience!

We compete in the following USA Rugby leagues:

Division 2 Women’s League, all season matches are within driving distance and only a few trips include and overnight (usually the Friday before).  D2 culminates into division, region, and national championships.

Women’s Premier League, all season matches are played against teams around the country. The WPL is the highest level of domestic rugby in the country, so costs are higher, but competition is also higher. WPL culminates in a national championship tournament seeded by league play throughout the season. In 2013, the Amazons won the WPL National Championship. The Amazons placed 6th in the 2017 WPL playoffs and 4th in 2018

All Amazons practice together and are coached by the same head coach throughout the season giving young/new players the opportunity to learn from their teammates.

The Zons are also active in the rugby community, many players are involved as referees or coaches for high school and collegiate teams as well as youth programs.

About the Women’s Premier League

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) features the nation’s top women’s rugby talent and is the highest level of senior club 15s competition in the U.S. The WPL consists of ten teams from coast to coast that are split into two five-team conferences. An eight-game regular season is followed by tournament play for the USA Rugby WPL National Championship title each fall. WPL players make up a bulk of the U.S. national women’s team, the USA Rugby Eagles.Founded in 2009, the League is completely player-run and operates in partnership with USA Rugby.
The Women’s Premier League was founded in 2009 as a collaboration between players and then-USA Rugby National Team coaching staff. The formation was spearheaded by Kathy Flores and Alex Williams who felt that a higher level of domestic competition would benefit the development of athletes for the women’s national team. The founding 8 teams — DC Furies, New York Rugby Club, Keystone, Minnesota Valkyries, Twin City Amazons, Beantown Rugby, Berkeley All Blues, and ORSU — were determined through a variety of criteria that included history of on the field performance, strength of the club, and geographic location.